top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureNita Jestila

What an awesome surprise!

Hello everyone.


Just thought I would chat a little to catch up.


I am doing amazing!! I have labs drawn and see my doctor monthly. This month, due to Covid 19, I had to have a phone visit. My tumor marker is still <6 and all other labs are great. It’s amazing!! And I continue to say, “Thank you Lord!!” He has been so good to us!!


We are, of course, quarantined to our home. So we’re just taking it easy. And what a beautiful day it is today!! We play a lot of Mexican Train Domino’s, watch our old days TV shows and eat (maybe a little too much😬).


I’m blessed to be doing Bible study on I Peter on Zoom with Kim Geiger and 20 or more ladies. Very thankful for modern technology. Who would have thought??

We were also able to have a wonderful birtday party for our sweet 4year old granddaughter, Riley on Zoom!! Wow.


Big news... I have hair again!!

Very happy to be wig/hat free!!

My hair is still a bit unruly (lol) but I’m ok with that!! 😁





Now, I just have to share the story about Southwest Airlines.

(It’s kinda long so maybe grab a cup of coffee. Lol)


As most of you know, Ter and I love to travel and usually we use rewards points for our flights. Well, last year during the worst part of my sickness, Southwest sent me an email and warned that my points were about to expire due to inactivity on my account. But, during that time, the last thing I was thinking of was checking my email. So then in August when I was feeling much better we checked our points to schedule a flight. Much to my surprise, I had zero miles instead of the 38,000 that I thought I had.


Well, I called SW and told them what had happened, but there wasn’t anything they could do to help. I was very surprised because I had always heard such great stories about the generous ways they help people in bad situations.


So I wrote an email and got the same answer. So I just decided, “it is what it is.”


Then a couple of weeks ago Ter was talking to a SW agent about canceling our flight due to Covid 19 and he mentioned it to the agent. She told him that the agents have no ability to return the points but that I should call their corporate office in Dallas.


So, I called and spoke with a wonderful man named Brian. I told him my whole story and he was very sad to hear it. He was so caring. He said he would turn it over to an advisory board (I think that’s what he called it) and that he would get back to me.


The next day I had an 800 call come in and so I didn’t answer it, thinking it was a solicitor.


Then later I saw a message. It was Brian, and he said they had restored my points. Wow!! I was so happy. So I tried to call him back to thank him but a very nice lady named Tabatha answered, and they are unable to transfer calls so I shared why I was calling and she said she would be happy to share with Brian that I had called to thank him. We talked for a long time, and she was very compassionate, we ended up telling her about the newspaper article, and she said she was gonna read it right then. I’m pretty sure she must have read it and shared with the others there in the office, because today FedEx delivered a package from Southwest. Inside was a rolled up banner, signed with such encouraging comments!!

What a blessing!! Of course, Ter and I were both in tears!! Tears of joy!! Brought this scripture to mind;

“A merry heart does good like a medicine!!

Proverbs 17:22“


We are so blessed! I mean who would ever expect to get something like this from a group of wonderful people that we’ve never met at a corporate office???


God is so good!!


I told you it was long story. 😁




Well, I pray that you all stay safe and healthy!!

Love you all!!

Nitz😘😘




112 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page