top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureNita Jestila

Up & Down Day

Today was a kind of up and down type of day. I had an appointment at 9:00 at the Plaza down town for my second chemo treatment. We had lots of snow during the evening and night. We have 4wheel drive so we felt pretty confident that we could make it to the appointment.


Jason had made plans to bring over breakfast and cook!! It was very good and very special for us!!


Meanwhile, while I was getting ready, Ter and Lor we’re outside blowing the snow and shoveling!!



So everything came together and we left at 7:45.


I had had a urinalysis yesterday and decided to look to see if the results had been posted. Well the results were posted. High bacteria in the urine. I thought “oh no I probably won’t be able to have the treatment.” I had already been concerned that my white count would not be high enough to have the treatment, now I’m really concerned. I did not want to miss that treatment. Then I realized I was thinking in a negative way . So at a red light I said “let’s pray”. So I prayed and told the Lord that I realize that His plan is good. And ask Him to give me strength to accept His will even if if it means I have to reschedule the treatment.


Then we started talking about all the details of bacteria in the kidney. All of a sudden Lor said , wait this isn’t building any Tcells!! 😁 Which put things back on a positive note!!


We made the appointment with time to spare.


So I’m in the chemo chair and the nurse was about to start the IV when I mentioned the bacteria. So she stopped and said they probably would have to reschedule and give me antibiotics. But then they talked with Dr Rowland and she decided to start on oral antibiotics and go ahead with the chemo. I was very happy.



Jason, Lori ,Timmy and Linz were with us. So encouraging and special!!😘


The infusion takes about 5-6 hours. About an hour and half into it, I became very nauseated and felt like I was going to have an upset stomach. The nurse turned the chemo off. I’m thinking “oh no.”


But then Ter and I reminded ourselves that God is in control, not us. Then then nurse came back with a small dose of IV Atavan for the nausea.


She started the chemo back up. I slept for 2hours. Everything went great from there.


So we stopped by Culver’s to pick up a bacon cheese burger. It was real good and I ate half. I am able to eat much better. Thank you for praying!!


Kayla was here when we got home. She had been out of town for work for 4 days. Very happy to see her. Had a nice time of visiting with Jason, Kayla, Lor and Ter.


Then some on knocked one our door. What a great surprise. There stood Mindy, Benjamin and

Lily and the most beautiful flowers. The flowers were from Chris. What a wonderful son-in-law. He has been texting and calling and encouraging me all along the way!!



So you can see why I called it an up and down day. But all turned out great!!

59 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page