top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureNita Jestila

Three down, Three plus one to go

Well, third chemo treatment completed. But I must say it wasn’t without a bump in the road. The treatment went well and the effects were very bearable.


Then on Sunday afternoon I began to feel kind of crummy and was having chills. I realized I was running a temperature and called the doctor. That meant straight to the emergency room. Long story short, I was admitted with an infection. As it turned out, the infection is actually in my kidney and has traveled to my blood, which of course, is much more serious. But the infection responded promptly to the antibiotics, and I’m completely clear. I was discharged on Friday afternoon, and I am doing great.


One of the nights in the hospital when I was sleepless, I was thinking and Philippians 4:67 came to my mind.



The Scripture has been special to me, really, all my life. I remember as a child singing this in vacation Bible school. I guess that is when I actually memorized it. It has been a source of strength for me ever since, through many trying times. Sharon, a very dear friend of mine, years ago shared with me that verse in 7, the PEACE of God is like a mighty sentinel standing guard over my heart. Guarding and protecting against fear!! What a wonderful blessing God's peace is. In the midst of the storm, that mighty sentinel of peace is there!! Praise His holy name!!


During the hospital stay my wonderful work friends made a beautiful tee shirt in my honor (which I’ve already blogged about), and I’ll never get over that. My heart is still overwhelmed. Thank you all so much!!

I had such a fun day on Saturday. Lindsay and my sweet grand baby girls came over. Linz wanted to bake cakes, and I got to supervise. Needless to say, I was in hog heaven being in the kitchen. The kitchen is my happy place, but I haven’t been able to spend much time in there lately. The cakes turned out awesome!!


Then later that night... boom.


Suddenly I had a very upset stomach (major diarrhea and nausea.. I know, TMI...lol). We were thinking, oh dear, hope this doesn’t mean big trouble. As it turned out it was a reaction to the oral antibiotics I’m on since I came home from the hospital. So that was just a tiny bump in the road.


So as you can see, it has been a bit of an up and down couple of weeks.


Now, we are just looking forward to seeing Dr. Rowland on April 1 to see if surgery is next or more chemo.


God is in control!!


Please continue to pray for my appetite. I still have no appetite at all. I know I have to eat, so I do. But it is very hard. Thank you!!

78 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page