top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureNita Jestila

Relay for Life



Wow, what a beautiful rainy Sunday morning. Last night was Relay for Life, and it was amazing.


Our family has done Relay for Life since 2000, but last year we were not able to do it and that was very sad for us. So this year we were totally committed to participating in Relay for Life. Then with the chemo and being sick, I was afraid that I wouldn’t be strong enough.


Relay has been such a huge deal to our family. Such a natural part of our lives for so long.


Earlier this year, our very special granddaughter, Mandy, had an idea to do Relay in St. Simon’s Island, Georgia.


They did it in my honor and named their team “The Yellow Ribbons of St Simon’s.” My heart was and is still over whelmed. Tears of joy!!


Chris, Austin, Derrick, Hannah, Cooper, and Derik H were immediately on board. ❤️❤️❤️


These are the kind of blessings I’ll never take for granted.


I praise God for the love and joy that I am given.



I decided to start the fund raising and just hope that I might be able to participate in Relay. My daughter Lori was here visiting and was a tremendous help with getting my fund raising letters printed, folded and ready to mail!!


And, quite honestly, I had no idea that I would be able to even show up for Relay!!

Ter, Jason, Timmy, Kayla, and Linz were all totally supportive!!


As it turned out, Timmy and Linz would be out of town for the event, but did some great fund raising. Jason and Kayla assured me they would go and walk even if I couldn’t. That gave me great comfort.


Well, thanks to all of you, the fundraising went great. As of last night at Relay, our total for the team was $2,848!!


Thank you all a million times!! Needless to say, we couldn’t do it without each of you!! A very special thank you to each who bought luminaries in my honor. Very moving!!


So, as the time was getting closer, we decided that we would take the motor home to Relay and at least maybe I could walk the survivor lap even if I couldn’t walk for the 6 hours.


Amie and Kim from the American Cancer Society were amazing!! Kept us totally informed on all details. I was not able to attend any of the meetings prior to the event.


They assured me that there would be a golf cart for me to ride in if I wasn’t strong enough to walk.


So, on Friday, 8 days before Relay, I had my 6th chemo. I did real good with the treatment as far as pain, but was really weak. On Thursday I still feeling really weak. Then on the the following Friday I started feeling much better and I was very happy, feeling for sure I would make it.


I actually felt like I could do the survivor lap and more!! We were all very excited about it being held at the Kansas City Speedway.


They had a 1/4 mile walking track for the actual “walking” track but we were allowed to walk the real track if we wanted to.


I was so excited to be able to prepare food and make our Yellow Ribbons cake.



The weather predictions was “iffy” at best. Rain was in and out of the forecast. And it was very hot and very sunny.


(The sun is very hard on me, drains me of any energy that I might have!)


But we figured I could just use my new, fun, flamingo umbrella if need be. 😍



Then, just as we were packed up and heading to the Speedway, weather reports changed and big storms were predicted!


We arrived and set up our spot (I use the word “we” very loosely - Ter and Jason set up our site. 😁) Kayla and I were busy inside the nice, air-conditioned temperatures. Kayla was making beautiful yellow ribbons and I was, of course, setting up the food!


We had a tent to set up, but with weather forecast, the ACS suggest no one set up tents. So Ter and Jason decorated the outside of the motor home with flags and yellow ribbons.



The time was very near, and it was very hot and sunny. So, Jason and Ter were thinking I would definitely have to use the umbrella to block the heat (Jason even offered to walk beside me to carry the umbrella, as he knows how weak I get when using my arms...how amazing) or probably need to ride in a golf cart.


Well, suddenly, the heavy clouds moved in and the temperature dropped. This could be called a coincidence - I call it God’s provision!!


So, we were able to walk to the opening ceremony, which was awesomely done by Nick Vasos and Shannon O’Brien

from Kansas City Fox 4 news.



Btw, felt only 3 rain drops, and the cool wind was amazing.


Well, Praise the Lord, I was able to walk the very emotional Survivor lap (the 1/4 mile lap) and halfway on the second lap before I suddenly was out of energy. Very tired and weak, but very happy!! I headed back to the motor home. I didn’t get to walk any more laps or walk the actual track, but I was fine with it all.


Totally thankful.


Tabatha and the girls brought me a very special “chemo” flamingo and beautiful flowers.


Thank you, Tabatha, for the beautiful flowers and the very special “chemo-flamingo.” 😘😘



Oh, to be so supported! Thankful for Ter, Jason, Kayla, Scrib, Loretz, Kelli, Tabatha, Caston, and Niki Blue!



And for Timmy, Linz, Riley, Zoey, Lor, Chris, Austin, Derrick, Hannie, Cooper, and Mandy... who are all very much a part of our team and were there in our hearts!! I definitely felt their love and support.


Ter, Jason, Kayla, and Scrib did walk on the big track.



There was a wonderful Survivor dinner prepared for us, but we had already decided we shouldn’t go. Since I was actually in my low white count days, being inside a closed area with that many people would be taking a big risk of picking up germs. We hoped and prayed that being outside around tons of people would be ok!?!?


Well then at 9:00 the bottom fell out, lightning and thunder!!


So Relay had to be called. Which is always sad. They put so much hard work into bringing it together.


But all in all, I can only say...Praise the Lord for allowing me to be there.


I was totally worn out when we got home but very happy.


Went straight to bed, slept very good. And feel good today.


Didn’t go to church today since I’m in my lowest count day.


Thank you all so much!!


Signed: One happy Relayer!!! 😁😘

35 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page