top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureNita Jestila

Post-Surgery

Wow, where do I begin?

 

The surgery went great. I am so blessed to have Dr. Rowland!!


Surgery was lengthy, 6 hours! 


Needless to say, I was sleeping through it all. But, for my family and friends, it was a long 6 hours (thinking the Lamar’s donuts and chatting with each other helped a lot!!)



But the awesome news was worth the wait!!  Dr. Rowland feels that she got all the cancer!!  The chemo was so effective!!  She had taken pictures when she did the laparoscopic biopsies back in January, and there was a tremendous amount of visible cancer. Then, she took pictures before she began the surgery...the difference was absolutely amazing!!  The chemo had wiped it out!!  Which, of course, was wonderful news. I always say that chemo is a "LOVE-HATE RELATIONSHIP."  I hate what it feels like and what it does to to my body....but LOVE  what it does to that hideous cancer!!  Praise the Lord. 


And with these thoughts, I am overwhelmed and in tears. I am so blessed!!



Dr. Rowland had planned to do the surgery robotically, but was prepared to open me up if need be. She was able to do the surgery robotically (laparoscopically), which is awesome because the recovery is so much faster and easier. Six incisions, each less than an inch long!!  Amazing that a total hysterectomy can be done through those tiny holes!!  

I mostly slept the rest of Thursday after the surgery, remembering very little!  Had a little glitch during the night when I went to the bathroom. Of course, the nurse was with me, but when I stood up...everything started turning black. Yikes, not a good feeling. But that wonderful nurse assistant just set me back down and called for help and the nurse was there in seconds!!  I was fine. 


Scared my Lor a bit!!  She stayed the night with me. So thankful that she can spend a week here with us!!



I was discharged Friday afternoon!!  


And doing great!!


Had a bit of nausea through the night but the pain was minimal...shockingly. Of course, moving and getting out of bed was another story. Pain!  But only lasts while moving. And that’s still the way it is. 


Eating is still an ugg thing. Hoping today will be better. 


***News flash***But today I ate and enjoyed half of one of those famous Terry burgers!!


The new addition is that for the next 28 days I have a blood thinner shot in my stomach at home. Ter gave it yesterday and I gave it today.  It wasn’t bad. 


And oh how special to have so many special friends and family stopping in to spoil me!!  Beautiful flowers and tons of love!!



So thankful that Lor was able to be here for my surgery, and she will be here for a week. Thank you to here family and co-workers. And also, that Robin and Holly were able to come into town to be with me!!  Thank you Steven. I am so totally blessed!!  


In the meantime, my precious family in St. Simons formed a Relay for Life team and walked the track in my honor while I was in the hospital. Rumor has it that it was all Mandy’s idea, and she set it all up. She truly is amazing!! And the whole family was instantly on board. Just made me so happy!! 



Sure feels good to be cancer free!!  Praising God for his goodness!!

118 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page