top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureNita Jestila

My Brothers...My Examples

On that night, in the hospital, that God moved in my heart to start a blog, He also moved in my heart to write about examples in my life...specifically two examples, my brothers.


I was so blessed with my brothers. They were as different as night and day. But both such strong, loving, supportive, Christian brothers!!


My older brother, Johnnie is 6 years older than me and was always the protective big brother. And has pretty much spoiled me all my life.


He went into the US Army when I was 11 and proudly served our country for 5 years. He was stationed in Germany. I missed him very much and we wrote lots of letters.


After he came home he married the love of his life, Carolyn. She was an amazing lady. I met her when I was 16 and have looked up to her and counted on her since then.


They had 2 wonderful children, Lee and Gail, as well as helped my sister to raise her children. Lee later married Kathy, and they have a wonderful son, Joey.


They were very giving people, always happy to help folks.


Johnnie was a police officer for 35 years. (He retired and returned and retired again).


And I would be amiss not to mention how wonderfully he took care of Carolyn as she began to lose her memory. It brought out a gentle side of him.


On December 22, 2017, a horrible tragedy occurred. Johnnie and Carolyn were in a horrible auto accident and Carolyn was taken home to be with Jesus. Johnnie was very badly, badly injured. We had just had our Christmas dinner here in Blue Springs when we got the news. Devastated, completely devastated!! My heart was broken. I loved them so much.


We drove to Jacksonville, fearful that he wouldn’t make it. It was the longest trip I’ve ever been on. And, of course, thinking of Lee, Gail, Kathy and Joey. So devastated.


The moment I saw him at the hospital... so relieved that he was alive, so shocked at his injuries!!


From that moment it was amazing to see his strength and dependence on the Lord. His heart was broken at the tremendous loss of his Carolyn. Yet, he showed such strength.


The road ahead of him was long and painful and so hard.


His family and so many friends were there for him, loving and supporting him.


Grief stricken and in much pain, he determined to work hard and to walk again. He was 75 years old and just amazing!!


And yes, he walked again, after months of painful physical therapy and hard work. In August 2018, he was walking and was discharged from his doctor on Tuesday. Two days later, he was walking on the driveway at a friend's, hit a slick spot and fell. 😢


Broke his femur lengthwise.


So, sadly, he was back to bed ridden and starting all over again.


Amazing to see that mans strength, faith and will!!


And yes, he’s walking again!! Praise the Lord!!!




The week before I started chemo, Ter mentioned to me what an example Johnnie had been to all of us!! Yes, yes, yes!!


So thankful for Johnnie and the example he has set for me for my whole life!!



My brother, Jerry, was 4 years older than me and was quite a humorous guy but could also have a serious side. He introduced me to fried shrimp when I was a young teenager. (My favorite food). Back in those days, going out to eat was a little more special...not so common as today.


He was very gifted at playing the piano!! He tried to teach me, but, well, let’s just say I wasn’t a very good student. He helped teach me to drive. And that’s another story !! Lol. He was a perfectionist...I wasn’t Lol


Jerry joined the US Army and proudly served our county in Vietnam. He was badly harmed by agent orange, although he wouldn’t know that for many years.


He married Jean, the girl of his dreams. Jean is a very special lady!! I am blessed to have her!! Always there for me!! Such a happy couple. Then along came their kids... joy beyond words, Stephen, David, and Tabitha. And his wonderful grandchildren!!


His family was his heart and life.


He was a very strong Christian and devoted to serving the Lord.



Jerry was exposed to agent orange while in Vietnam Nan. He developed diabetes and it tore his body apart piece by piece. The diabetes was one of the horrible illnesses caused by agent orange.


He lost his vision to this horrible disease.


Later years of his life were constant pain, worsening year by year. His strength and humor were amazing.


He was always amazed when someone would tell him how he had inspired them with his strength, stamina and humor through it all.


Jean shared with me that the last ten years of his life he became such a prayer warrior. And, as he prayed for others, it helped him to get through the constant pain that he had to endure.


Jerry went to be with his Lord in September 2016. He is so missed.


He was such an amazing example to me my whole life.



84 views2 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page