top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureNita Jestila

“6”

Hello everybody!


Just had blood work done and my tumor marker is “6.” Praise the Lord!! He is sooooo GOOD!!


Well, I’m almost 8 weeks out from my last chemo, and I am doing so remarkably well!! I can continue to say, “Thank you Jesus!!”


I am surprised at how much strength I have gained back!!


I feel great!!


I was able to go back to work on July 28. I was so happy to be back!! I am so blessed to have such a wonderful work family. They made me feel so very special!! They brought in snacks and fun stuff. Such a welcome back party!! There is no place like 5Sutherland!! Thank you to each and every one of you! I love y’all!! ❤️😘


Ter and I took a celebration motor home trip to Upper Michigan. We had a really good time on the farm and so enjoyed visiting with family. Very relaxing!

Daryl and Syl, as usual, were amazing!! Made our time there so special!! Thank you both!!


Our precious little grand daughter was due on September 4, however on August 9 we received a call that due to some complications, Little Charlie would arrive on August 12!!


Well, since we were still in Michigan, I did have a “slight” melt down!! I guess that’s somewhat of a natural reaction for a Grammy!! Well, for this Grammy anyway. I have 6 other absolutely awesome grandchildren (plus one amazing bonus granddaughter 😍), and I was at the hospital for each of their births and certainly wanted to be there for this one!!


Well, we left that night and were home in plenty of time for the wonderful event. And what a wonderful event it was. Little Charlie and Kayla are healthy and doing great!



Charlotte Beth Jestila (aka Charlie!) weighed in at 4 lbs and 12 oz and was 18 inches long.


Jason is totally in love and is a wonderful, natural born Dad!!


We are so blessed and thankful!!


I mentioned in my last post that I would be taking maintenance meds. Well, as it turns out, they are chemo pills that I will be taking twice a day for two years.


Dr. Rowland said that the medicine was very expensive, but we had no idea how expensive. It’s roughly $14,000 (yes, thousand) per month!!


Well, they had us apply to the pharmaceutical company for assistance because of my past history. Lori was here visiting, and she helped me fill out the application online and emailed it on Thursday afternoon to Dr. Rowland to complete her part and file it with the pharmaceutical company.


This is where I truly believe that God intervened, because 7 days later, FedEx delivered the medication to our door!! We were absolutely shocked at how fast that was approved and sent!!


We had had a few doubts about taking this because of all the possible side effects.


But now we feel completely confident that it’s the right thing to do.


So, we went for an education appointment with one of the chemo Nurse Practitioners, and I started taking it 6 days ago and, Praise the Lord, no side effects yet.


The side effects can be mild to extreme. If they were extreme, then I would have to stop taking them.


So I’m asking that y’all join us in praying that I have no side effects, and of course, that God’s will be done!!


“And so the Journey continues! 😘”

86 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page